One question I get frequently is about my stockpile. If you haven’t watched my Youtube video on this… CLICK HERE. I’ve also listed out 10 tips to consider when beginning your own stockpiling adventure!

  1. Don’t buy it unless you’ll use it. There’s a big difference between stockpiling and ending up on Hoarders! If you use cream of mushroom soup a lot, then stock up! If you only use chicken broth for soup in the winter, don’t buy as much. Be smart about your purchases.
  2. Think about what food typically goes on sale that month. There’s a lot of charts out there that give this info away.
  3. Freeze fresh summer fruits for the winter. There’s nothing like blueberry muffins on a cold January morning!
  4. Tonight we had leftover ham, I froze it up into packages that will be used later for breakfast muffins and scalloped potatoes.We could eat the leftovers this week, but I’d rather stick to my meal plan and incorporate those into the future.
  5. Think about if stocking up on it would be the cheaper route, or if making it yourself would be better. Take laundry soap for example, paired with coupons you can get a fair price, but making it yourself is much cheaper.
  6. Set aside some extra cash just in case something goes on a 1-day sale. You’ll always be prepared for those. Sometimes if you go early enough to the grocery store they’ll have some meat marked down. This will help you be ready for those awesome specials.
  7. Decide a system for your freezer. This is one area that can trick you in your meal planning. It’s easy to forget what is all in there! Print out a cute printable or use a dry erase marker to keep track of what’s all in there.
  8. Decide a system for your other non-perishables. You’ll want to rotate them by expiration date. Oldest first. Beginning of the month pull out what will be expiring soon so you can use it up.
  9. Have good storage. Find a place that’s cool. That way you can store extra potatoes, onions, etc down there as well. Storage shelves are ideal. My husband built what I’m using now.
  10. Buy bulk, but be smart about it. You really need to watch your bulk prices. Sometimes buying bulk isn’t the best option. Also, you’ll have to consider storage for these items as well. I buy bulk baking ingredients the most. I have a container in my storage that holds the bulk and mason jar canisters for what’s in my pantry. Easy to refill. I take a trip to the Amish each spring and Fall to stock up on those ingredients.

I hope this helps give you  more tips on creating a stockpile. If you have more, please feel free to ask! As always, you’re more than welcome to join my Facebook community to get even more tips on being organized, meal planning, time management. Join here!

Leave a comment